This site is optimised for modern web browsers, and does not fully support your current browser.



Innovation is the lifeblood of racing, which runs through Jaguar’s rich motorsport history. Throughout the decades, we have reimagined what is possible on the track so we can bring it to you on the road.

Jaguar’s long and illustrious history in motorsport has forever informed the evolution of our road cars. Our entry into Formula E will continue this legacy, steering the course for our future electric vehicles.


  • XK120.


    Date: 1948 - 1954
    Top Speed: 200.5 kph
    Engine capacity: 3,442 cc / 201 ci
    Power: 160 bhp / 119 kW
    Fact: XK120 is the world's fastest production car at launch

  • C-TYPE.


    Date: 1951 - 1953
    Top Speed: 231.7 kph
    Engine capacity: 3,442 cc / 210 ci
    Power: 207 bhp / 154 kW
    Fact: C-Type disc brakes became an automotive standard

  • D-TYPE.


    Date: 1954 - 1957
    Top Speed: 260.7 kph
    Engine capacity: 3,442 cc / 210 ci
    Power: 250 bhp / 186 kW
    Fact: D-Type won at the Le Mans in 1955, 1956, 1957

  • XJS.


    Date: 1975 - 1996
    Top Speed: 246.2 kph
    Engine capacity: 4,235 cc / 258 ci
    Power: 285 bhp / 212 kW
    Fact: XJS won at Spa 24 Hours 1983

  • XJR.


    Date: 1983 - 1991
    Top Speed: 368.5 kph
    Engine capacity: 6,995 cc / 426 ci
    Power: 750 bhp / 559 kW
    Fact: XJR-12 won first and second places at Le Mans 1990

  • formula 1.

    FORMULA 1 - R2 & R3

    Date: 2000 - 2004
    Top Speed: 312.2 kph
    Engine capacity: 2,998 cc / 464 ci
    Power: 770 bhp / 574 kW
    Fact: Eddie Irvine and Mark Webber drove for Jaguar's F1 team

  • I-TYPE.

    Formula E I-TYPE 1

    Date: 2016 - 2017
    Top Speed: restricted to 225.3 kph
    Engine capacity: N/A
    Power: 200kW, equivalent to 270bhp
    Fact: Jaguar returned to racing in Formula E Season 3, 2016/17

  • I-TYPE.

    Formula E I-TYPE 2

    Date: 2017 - 2018
    Top Speed: restricted to 225.3 kph
    Engine capacity: N/A
    Power: 200kW, equivalent to 270bhp
    Fact: Jaguar scored its first podium and first pole position with the I‑TYPE 2 in Season 4, 2017/18


  • XK120.


    1948-1954 – SILVERSTONE & LE MANS

    An all-new sports car, and the test-bed for Jaguar’s revolutionary XK engine, the XK120 is ranked the fastest production car in the world. In 1949, the XK120 takes the chequered flag at Silverstone and a year later, three XK120s make their debut at Le Mans. It’s the beginning of a new era in motor racing.

  • C-TYPE.


    1951-1953 – LE MANS

    In 1951, aircraft engineer Malcolm Sayer joins Jaguar and brings with him aeronautical discipline and excellence. His first collaboration, the C-Type, wins at Le Mans and second-car driver Stirling Moss breaks the lap record. In 1953, the C-Type wins again at Le Mans and takes three of the top four places.

  • D-TYPE.


    1954-1957 – LE MANS

    Bad weather robs the D-Type of victory at Le Mans in 1954, even after recording a shattering top speed of 170 mph. However, the streamlined car fights back to win in 1955, 1956 and 1957 – a year in which it takes five of the top six places. The D-Type remains to this day one of the most successful racing cars ever built.

  • XJS.


    1975-1996 – ETCC & SPA 24 HOURS

    In 1982, under the banner of TWR, British racing driver Tom Walkinshaw enters a team of V12 XJS’s into the European Touring Car Championship and claims several wins in the process. Walkinshaw goes on to take the 1984 ETCC Drivers’ Championship and in the same year wins the prestigious Spa 24 Hours.

  • XJR-9.


    1983-1991 – DAYTONA 24 HOURS & LE MANS

    The XJR closed-cockpit cars prove formidable on the world’s long distance endurance circuits – and non more so than the 1988 XJR-9. The V12-powered supercar is driven to victory at Daytona 24 Hours and then Le Mans, where driver Martin Brundle and Jaguar respectively land the Drivers’ and the Manufacturers’ Championships.

  • R1 TO RS.

    R1 to R5

    2000-2004 – FORMULA 1

    Jaguar’s foray into Formula 1 sees ex-Ferrari driver Eddie Irvine take a number of podium places during his tenure. The team also serves as a training-ground for acclaimed Australian driver Mark Webber. Owned and engineered by Ford, Jaguar develops three cars that all run on the Cosworth V10 engine.

  • I-TYPE.

    I‑TYPE 1

    2016 – FORMULA E

    Inspired by our racing heritage, and powered by a collective of established racing engineers and super-bright technicians, Jaguar Racing and the incredible I-TYPE 1 entered Formula E: courageous, competitive and raring to race.

  • I-TYPE.

    I-TYPE 2

    2017 - FORMULA E

    The introduction of the I-TYPE 2 saw Jaguar Racing record their most successful Formula E season to date, with numerous top ten finishes. Purpose built for gruelling city circuits, the I-TYPE 2 delivered up to 200kw (270bhp) and 0-100km/h in a blistering 2.9 seconds.

  • I-TYPE 4

    2019-2020 – FORMULA E

    The Jaguar I-TYPE 4 featured the lightest and most efficient powertrain Jaguar Racing had ever produced, with a top speed of 280 km/h. It took a dominant victory in Mexico City and Pole Position and a podium in Santiago. The season concluded with an action packed 6 races across 9 days in a closed circuit at the historic Berlin Tempelhof airport in Germany. Panasonic Jaguar Racing finished strong in P7 in the teams’ standings of the Championship.



    From the race track to the road: experience the thrill of racing performance everyday with the Jaguar I‑PACE.


    Stay up-to-date with Jaguar TCS Racing and season 9 of the of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.


    Stunning design and breath-taking performance. Explore how our experiences in the ABB FlA Formula E World Championship are transferred to our on-road electric vehicles.